The Year of the Jackalope

IMG_0153

3D printed jackalope that was gifted to me

What can I say? I have a fascination with creatures that don’t exist. Mythological creatures. Folk tales. Fairy tales.

I’ve recently finished writing a middle-grade portal fantasy that incorporates American, specifically Southwestern, folklore. A few definitions:

Middle-grade: For 8-12 year olds, think younger YA
Portal fantasy: Where the characters go through a portal to a new realm (think Alice in Wonderland or the Chronicles of Narnia)

Here is some art I commissioned for the project. Didn’t the artist do a fantastic job?

 

My personal blog shifting to focus on American mythology. If you like that sort of thing, please come by for a visit. My first post Are Jackalopes Real? will debut this week.

And I’m on the hunt for jackalope books. I’ve found these so far that have jackalopes in the story. Do you know of any others?

Finally, I’ve created a Pinterest board to track jackalope sightings. Please send me pictures if you’re out and about and run across anything jackalope. I’m collecting!

NOW YOU: WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE AMERICAN FOLKLORE OR CREATURE? WHAT STORIES ARE PREDOMINANT IN THE AREA WHERE YOU LIVE?

5 thoughts on “The Year of the Jackalope

  1. Jackalopes are cool, but my fav is still going to have to be the dragon. Or my very own bellator (gigantic bat). Love the picture on your blog!

    Like

  2. Very cute artwork! And glad I could expand your Jackalope library! 😉
    I hadn’t even notices the Jackalope on your blog – very cool!
    I’ll keep an eye out for Jackalopes for your pinterest board – I live in Jackalope country so maybe I’ll catch one nibbling in our backyard. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

