Do you write in your Bible?

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 9.31.32 PM

Bible journaling has become a thing. I’m not sure when it started, maybe with the adult coloring book craze, but it is definitely hot right now.

There are printables, art supplies, templates, ideas, and now special Bibles dedicated to journaling with lovely large margins. Some margins even have pre-drawn doodles for you!

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 9.36.17 PM

I finally received my Inspire Bible NLT (Tyndale) and have been enjoying it. I like taking my set of colored pencils and using them to highlight and take notes in the text. I’m not much of an artist, but drawing something that reminds me of what I’ve read, or coloring in block text of Scripture helps me meditate on the message. Plus, I’m excited to crack open my Bible every morning because it’s fun to color and draw. 🙂 Here are some examples I’ve done from Romans:

Should you Bible journal? Here are some pros and cons to think about:

Pro #1: Bible journaling is a fresh approach to looking at Scripture. None of us want to get stale in our spiritual lives. Sometimes trying something new or doing something besides simply reading, helps us connect with Scripture better.

Pro#2: It can be beautiful, especially if you are artistic. If looking at this calls to your soul, then it might be something you will enjoy that will encourage you to crack open your Bible more frequently.

Pro#3: It is relaxing. Coloring and drawing aren’t things that happen fast, so journaling makes you slow down which makes you internalize the Scripture you’re journaling.

On the other hand…

Con #1: If you’re not careful, it can obscure Scripture instead of enhancing it. If you create a scene on a page and then you can’t read part of the page, then you’re creating a keepsake, not something you can use effectively again. If that’s what you want to do, that’s perfectly fine–just be intentional about it.

Con#2: It can shift your focus from God to you. If Bible journaling becomes all about the way it looks or doing it instead of being used as a tool to open your mind to God and the Scripture, that’s not good. Make sure journaling is bringing you closer to God, not distracting you from His presence.

Con#3: Not everyone is an artist. In fact, some people abhor writing in any book, much less the Bible! If you are hyperventilating looking at these pictures, then Bible journaling is not for you. And that’s ok too. 🙂

NOW YOU: DO YOU BIBLE JOURNAL? WHY OR WHY NOT?

 

8 thoughts on “Do you write in your Bible?

  1. I’m hyperventilating! very one of your cons fits me. While I’ve been known to underline a verse, I prefer to take notes in a notebook. I have a box filled with notebooks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Make that EVERY one of your cons fits me.

    Like

  3. I usually abhor writing in books (aside from textbooks) but Bibles are the one book I don’t mind – I like highlighting (yellow or green) and writing in tiny notes. And filling the front/back pages with notes, verse-chains, etc. I don’t journal – it looks kind of interesting but for myself, I think it would be a distraction. I think I’d like one of those Bibles so I could write larger notes, and maybe the occasional illustration, but it wouldn’t be one of those “armed with a colorful array of pencils” type things for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I don’t have a problem marking up books.
    I mark up my Bible with markings from Kay Arthur’s precept courses and write in the margins.
    I received a journaling Bible for Christmas, but it’s not designed for study (thin pages, small font). I’m going to use it for artistic journaling.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

