The Perspective of Age

img_4210-2 (680x907)

I’m not the type of person to be greatly affected by a celebrity’s passing, but Alan Rickman’s death last week was one of them. Last year it was the death of Jonathan Crombie from the Anne of Green Gables movies. Two men that played two of my favorite characters (the enigmatic Professor Snape and the ideal hero Gilbert Blythe) and who died all too young.

This past week with the passing of David Bowie, Alan Rickman, Dan Haggerty (Grizzly Adams), and Glen Frey it wasn’t so much about celebrity deaths but their ages. At one time, late 60s or early 70s would have seemed like a “long life”. Now all I can think is these men were my parents’ age.

I live in Arizona and the passing of Navajo Code Talkers make the news. It’s hard to believe that even the youngest of the “Greatest Generation” are now in their ninth decade. My grandfather was nineteen when he climbed into a ball turret and flew over Normandy. He wouldn’t turn twenty for another six weeks. Now he’s a spry ninety-one and one of the “younger” WWII veterans. My husband’s grandfather lived into his early nineties and would have been one hundred this year. It wasn’t that long ago, my grandparents were the ones in their sixties and seventies.

One of my heroines is the ninety-year-old woman who started running marathons in her seventies. That’s who I want to be when I grow up. That active elderly person. But only God knows the number of my days. I eat right, exercise, and try to not stress out. I hope I’m around for another fifty or sixty years, but only God knows how long we have. All I can do is live life to its fullest and to His glory.

Has any person’s death put into perspective how brief life is?

Leave a Reply

