Goals Readjusted 

This time last year I was training for my first half-marathon. This year I would have been too. Except.

On vacation I stepped off a curb and rolled my ankle. I did the whole RICE thing (Rest, Ice, Compression, Elevation) and it seemed to get better. No big deal.

Then after driving home from  a business trip I noticed the side of my foot hurt and kind of felt weird, and I was afraid I might have fractured it.

After I got back from Realm Makers, I got it checked out. Fortunately it was just a sprained ankle. But I was told not to run for four weeks. In two more weeks I can run again. Woo-hoo! However, that’s not enough time for me to train for a half-marathon in early November.

I’m disappointed but glad my injury wasn’t worse. I’m thinking of running a half-marathon in February instead. Even if I don’t, I’m going to start training for it. My son is going to start running with me and I’m excited about that.

And this week they predicted the worst winter for us since the 1950s. So I might be reblogging this in December about how I’m adjusting my goals because I can’t run in 2 feet of snow. But after two years without much snow, I don’t think I’ll be complaining.

When was a time that unforeseen circumstances interrupted your plans?

6 thoughts on “Goals Readjusted 

  1. I thought the NWS’s Climate Prediction Center had released its winter outlook and all indications point to a milder (and maybe drier) than normal winter? Or maybe that’s just in my area? I just know I really, really hope it’s true and up until now, everyone around me has been predicting a harsh winter because we had such a mild summer. (I’m a Florida girl stuck in South Dakota – really not a fan of cold!!) 😉

    I’m pretty good at rolling with the punches when obstacles come up so nothing really pops out in my memory other than financial obstacles canceling plans for a Disney Christmas with my family. (We bought a house instead.)

    Like

  2. Run in the mall. It’s no worse than running on sidewalks, but I would like to add, running in the snow is a great way to build leg muscles as long as you have the right foot gear. You might consider snow shoeing too. We Minnesotans do this stuff all the time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

