How would you respond?

Picture this…

The building where you work went up in flames.

Now you no longer have a job.

The bank where you keep all your money fails.

Now you have no savings, no checking, no credit card.

Your car is stolen. Your phone was in it.

Your house and everything in it are flattened by a tornado.

Now you have no possessions.

Your family was in the house.

Now they are all dead.

Maybe some of this has happened to you.

How did you respond?

Just stop and let it sink in for a moment. You have lost everything.

Now really, how would you respond?

Firefighters fighting fire during training

“Then Job arose and tore his robe and shaved his head, and he fell to the ground…

AND WORSHIPPED.

He said, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb,
And naked I shall return there.
The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away.
Blessed be the name of the Lord.””

Job 1:20-21

8 thoughts on “How would you respond?

  1. Job also said: “For the thing which I greatly feared is come upon me, and that which I was afraid of is come unto me.”

    God did not take all of those thing, Satan did. I don’t share the common evangelical view and interpretation of Job. Job may have impressed God, but he was flawed and wrong about somethings. His true redeeming quality is that He did not curse God.

    Like

    • According to the Bible study I’m going through now, the real theme of Job is faith. We can see that here when Job loses everything and yet he falls down on his knees not to despair, but to worship. That would not have been my first response.

      And you’re correct, Satan took the things away, but God allowed it.

      Like

  2. One of my favorite song lyrics:

    And blessed be Your name
    When the sun’s shining down on me
    When the world’s ‘all as it should be’
    Blessed be Your name

    And blessed be Your name
    On the road marked with suffering
    Though there’s pain in the offering
    Blessed be Your name

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’ve struggled with Job more than any other book in the Bible, but he does give us a great example of how to respond when the rough stuff hits.

    Like

    • I’m doing a Bible study on Job now. 2 actually- 1 with our small group, and one for myself. The one I’m doing is Job Interactive Study Guide by Charles Swindoll. Perhaps you’d like to join me? I’m really enjoying it. Job is one of the toughest books, I think, but really speaks to faith and struggle and the problem of evil.

      Like

      • That would be fun, but I’m studying Daniel now, with Revelation waiting in the wings. But thanks for the invitation!

        Liked by 1 person

      • The key to understanding the book of Job is in 2:6, “the Lord said unto Satan, Behold, he is in thine hand; but save his life.” The English translation reads as if Job was never in Satan’s hand, but at that moment, he was turned over by God. The actual Hebrew tense, when translated properly, is “he was and always has been under your hand.” In other words, because of the Fall of Adam this world has always been under the direct authority of Satan (2 Cor 4:4). Satan was trying to tempt God into turning on someone God loved, but God was not having any of it.

        The reason Job 2:6 doesn’t get translated the way was told to me by my scholar friend who has his Masters in Biblical languages. Most scholars that do translation don’t believe in redemptive theology. Very few biblical scholars even have an evangelical world view. When he (Robert) was doing his studies, he nearly lost his faith in Christ. My friend pointed the tense out to several of his instructors and it freaked them out. They acknowledged he was correct, but their response was “that is not the traditional way that verse is translated.”

        Like

Leave a Reply

