The Cheerleader

This month marks the fourth anniversary of when I sat down and started writing. During this time I’ve had the opportunity to connect with other authors. Some well-established, award winning authors. Others began their journey about the same time as I did. Now they’ve gone on to sign their first contracts with agents and/or editors, and publish their debut novel.

Am I envious of the established author working on another proposal for a new book? The author who’s signed a contract with a publisher, acquired an agent, won a contest, published their debut novel, or even been nominated for an award for that debut novel. The answer is a resounding, “No!”

I’m one of those people, now more than in childhood, who rejoices when others rejoice. Joy is my default, and the only fruit of the spirit that consistently ripens on the tree of my spirit. Yes, there are brief moments I’ve been envious of a person who has signed with an agent or editor, placed in a contest, or had an article published. But those moments become fewer and fewer.

I believe God has a plan for each one of us in our lives. And that includes my writing journey. In the past four years, I’ve finished my first manuscript, nearly finished the first draft of my second manuscript, and have made good progress in two more. I have had two short stories published.

Right now, I’m pressing toward the goal of finishing my second manuscript. The draft was supposed to be completed last month. I reset that goal to this month. I’m working on another short story. My favorite Disney cartoon is Meet the Robinsons. The motto in that movie is “keep moving forward”.

Exhortation is one of my spiritual gifts, so encouragement is easy for me. I like to give pep talks to those who are discouraged. I celebrate with those who are succeeding. God calls us to move forward with the end in mind. In Philippians 3:14 Paul says, “I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”

If you find yourself envious or discouraged, remember ultimately our goal is to pursue the call of God whether it’s through writing, parenting, or our day jobs. Our purpose is to work for God’s glory.

2 thoughts on “The Cheerleader

  1. God certainly had given you the gifts of encouragement and joy, and I, for one, am grateful! (Hebrews 3:13)

    Like

  2. Yes, I admit to feeling some envy when others are seeming to jump ahead. But I have to remind myself, that I am exactly where God wants me to be, and its not about me anyways. If God gave me a talent, he will bring forth opportunities to use it for his kingdom. Not mine.

    Like

Leave a Reply

