The many faces of dystopian fiction

If it’s dystopian and it sounds interesting, I read it. And I’ve read a bunch of interesting new dystopian stories lately. Want to hear about them? 😉

A Star Curiously Singing

A Star Curiously Singing. Make no mistake, this is as original as dystopian fiction gets. It’s set in the future in an Arab dominated world. Before you worry this is a jump-on-the-bandwagon ISIS knock-off, you need to know it was published in 2009. (I’m a little behind the times on reading this one.) And the main character is a mind-slave–able to think and exercise free-will in most things but cannot violate the stops programmed into his head. And speaking of his head, it’s connected to the stream (think internet) full-time unless he’s in a sleep chute that interrupts the connection. I haven’t read the rest of the series yet, but I’ve already bought #2 and plan to get to it soon.

RebelsRebels (The Safe Lands #3) – The final installment in The Safe Lands trilogy by Jill Williamson. I was halfway through this book and couldn’t see how the author could possibly finish it. Yet she did, and it left me satisfied. If you haven’t read this series yet, don’t start with this one, go back to Captives (#1) and enjoy the ride. What makes this series unique is that it doesn’t focus on just one or two characters but centers around three brothers. It has a more complex cast of than many dystopians, which makes it more enjoyable to read. And the story world is rich and fun. Complicated with surprises even in book 3.

ATimetoDieCovA Time to Die – debut novel by Nadine Brandes releasing next week. Again, full stars on creativity for this one. The premise is that each person in society is matched to a clock at birth that counts down to the exact time of their death. People are treated differently based on how long they have left to live. We meet the protagonist at the beginning of the last year of her life. And she lives in the United States of the East. In this futuristic story, there’s a huge wall that separates the West of the US from the East. Any guesses on what’s on the other side? You’ll have to read to find out.

If you’re interested in A Time to Die, you can ENTER THE GIVEAWAY on my blog (and read an interview with the author) and/or ENTER THE Rafflecopter GIVEAWAY on the her blog.

TALK TO ME. FAVORITE DYSTOPIAN NOVEL/MOVIE? READ ANY OF THESE? IF SO, WHAT DID YOU THINK?

5 thoughts on “The many faces of dystopian fiction

  1. My most favorite: THE ONES WHO WALK AWAY FROM OMELAS by Ursula Le Guin. It is an excellent source of apologetic material for teaching nonbelievers on a college campus.

    Like

  2. My fav so far is the Hunger Games. I felt the books were so well done in that they truly mocked so many things in our own society. I felt myself giggling at times when I recognized some of our society’s hangups. But I supposed that’s what scifi is most of the time – a poke at our society’s ingrained traditions.

    Like

    • Hunger Games is a classic for sure. I could not put those books down. And I read them again occasionally. Just saw the trailer for the new movie and it made me want to read them again. I’m pathetic. 😉

      Like

  3. I haven’t read any of the ones you listed though they are all on my list. (A Star Curiously Singing as of now 😉

    Hmm, I haven’t finished the Silo series but I really found myself wrapped up in the Wool omnibus.

    Like

Leave a Reply

