Interview with Laura Anderson Kurk

laura cary 2

Author LAURA ANDERSON KURK

 

photo (1)Nickname: Lola
Genre: Young adult contemporary
Personal Philosophy: I think there’s just one kind of folks. Folks.
Fave Scripture: Exodus 14:13  -- Because fear is my worst vice.
Fave Quote: Today? -- “Here was peace. She pulled in her horizon like a great fish-net. Pulled it from 
around the waist of the world and draped it over her shoulder. So much of life in its meshes! She called in her soul to come and see.” (Their Eyes Were Watching God) (Actually, can I say every line from that book is my favorite quote?)
In high school I was a…shy, smiling hugger-of-walls
photo copy
Laura Anderson Kurk in 9th grade

Laura, thanks so much for signing in to our Slam Book. We’re happy that you’re here to talk about your two new books Perfect Glass and Glass Girl!

Whom did you have in mind when you wrote Perfect Glass and Glass Girl?

LAK: Survivors. Of all kinds. Teens who have looked death in the eye and kept standing their ground. But also people who have faced any odd that seemed insurmountable and done it with the knowledge that it would make them deeper and stronger. They are the people who understand that with great hardship comes greater enlightenment. The germ of the idea for the first book, Glass Girl, came from an article I’d read about Craig Scott, the brother of Rachel Scott who was the first person killed in the Columbine school shooting. It made me wonder about the siblings of those killed in school shootings and the psychological warfare they endure in the aftermath.

What do you hope readers will take away from your books?

LAK: That living deep, profoundly subterranean lives full of ready awareness of themselves, others, and the Creator will yield such beauty and love. We will all face hard times on this earth and our ability to connect with others through hardship will make all the difference. Survive and help others survive. What could bring more meaning?

Which character is most like you and why?

LAK: My main character, Meg, is drawn from the emotional wells I dug as a teen. She is quiet, but her mind is always going. She’s so sensitive that she aches with it. She lives on the verge of either breaking or really, truly living. I’ve lived on that edge most of my life. And she likes tall boys in boots, which is surprising given her East Coast upbringing.

If you could meet one of your characters in real life, which one would it be and what would you do together?

LAK: All of them! Today, I think I’d like to spend time with Jo, the cantankerous old artist that Meg takes care of in the second book, Perfect Glass. Mostly because she’s funny and full of vinegar and has an abundance of clear-eyed wisdom about life. We’d hang out in her studio and I’d watch her paint from memory people she has loved. She did this cool thing where she painted over a love letter from the man she let go of when she was younger. I’d like to hear the story behind that.

You can connect with Laura on Facebook, Twitter, and at her website.

Want to know more about Laura? Check out the interview on my blog including the first chapter of Glass Girl!glass girl
perfect glass

ENTER TO WIN A COPY OF ONE OF LAURA’S BOOK AT OUR Rafflecopter giveaway!

IF YOU COULD MEET ANY CHARACTER IN A BOOK, WHO WOULD IT BE AND WHAT WOULD YOU DO?

3 thoughts on “Interview with Laura Anderson Kurk

  1. Thanks for hosting me today, mighty Scriblerians! I enjoyed the slam book style! All my best to all of you…

    Like

  2. You were such an adorable ninth grader!

    Like

    • Ha! It makes me laugh when I see how beautiful today’s 9th graders are — what with their vast knowledge of selfie skills and fashion sense. I wanted to provide a true contrast… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

