Something Old, Something New

new moonfall cover

It’s a big day for the Scriblerians. Another one of us is published! Vanessa Morton’s Moonfall is now available from Amazon.

Nearly three years ago (time has flown by), I joined ACFW’s Scribes critique loop. I prayed for critique partners and was excited when TJ and Cynthia invited me to join their group. At the same time, they invited two other members, Beth and Vanessa. What a huge answer to prayer. These were the writers of my favorite stories.

Vanessa’s Moonfall (it had a different working title) captivated me with its rich detail that added to the story rather than slowed the pace. She dropped me right into an ancient, foreign, and even mystical culture. I could see it, smell it, taste it, hear it, feel it. Vanessa is a master at drawing us into the story using our senses.

Vanessa describes her brand of young adult fiction as “adventure fiction that includes historical and Biblical elements”. Spot on. I had read quite a bit of the story before I knew that it was based on a Biblical character and took the reader through a well-known story. Because I was surprised at how the story unfolded, I’m not going to reveal who Rachav is or what portion of the Bible she’s retelling. It’s important, yet it’s not.

Moonfall is a story that could be at any place or time. In fact, parts of it read like speculative fiction. At the same time, the elements closest to scripture bring to life the culture and religion the Israelites and their God, my God, often through the eyes of Rachev who is a spectator.

Whether or not you’re knowledgeable about the Bible and the stories within its pages, you’ll delight in Vanessa’s description, intriguing characters, and the excitement of the story. Remember, this is foremost an adventure story.

 

4 thoughts on “Something Old, Something New

  1. I’m reading this as you post this.

    Like

  2. I should say, I’m reading Moonfall as this is being posted.

    Like

  3. How did I not know about this site?! Loved Vanessa’s book. Love you guys!

    Like

  4. Welcome Linda! I’m glad you found us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

