My favorite YA books of 2013

Are you tired of 2013 best-of lists yet? When it comes to books, I’m always happy to see what someone’s favorite books of the year were. There’s nothing like reading something that someone else has enjoyed. Especially if you know them and trust their opinion.

In no particular order, here are books to add to your TBR (to-be-read) pile from my list of favorites for 2013.

Starting with books by my favorite authors:

Who doesn’t love a fairy tale re-telling? I love all of Melanie’s books. They are a rich mixture of romance and historical fiction based on our favorite fairy tales. This one, on Cinderella.

A new favorite author for the year, Jill Williamson. I haven’t read all her books yet, but I do have them all on my kindle. I love this series. I read the first one in 2013.

 

And now for new authors I’d never read before 2013.

This is for romance/fantasy folks. It’s the story you’ve always wished you could live.

 

Anyone will love this fresh take on Authurian legend, told from a teenage Merlin’s point of view. Clever and well-crafted:

If you haven’t read Ender’s Game, a book many claim is the best Sci-Fi book ever, what are you waiting for? I finally read it and it exceeded my expectations.

 

Looking for a fun read that’s entertaining with great characters and plot? I love this series by RL Copple. I read #2 and #3 this year:

 

This is a book that made me see prophets in a whole new way. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!

 

And this last book isn’t YA fiction, but I think anyone who enjoys YA would love this book as well. If I could buy it and give it to everyone to read, I would. The title and cover may put off some, but this wonderfully clever and well-written book shouldn’t be overlooked:

 

Now, dear readers, tell me: how many of these have you read? And what was your favorite read of 2013?

 

 

10 thoughts on “My favorite YA books of 2013

  1. I haven’t read any of these but they’ve all gone on my list this year. I finally read the first 3 Melanie Dickerson books and this one is next. I think I read them all in the span of one week, that’s how much I enjoyed them. 🙂 Doon I saw on someone else’s top list and I added it to my Amazon wishlist immediately. Sounds intriguing. As for my favorite read of 2013… Probably Wool by Hugh Howey. Or Starling by Leslie Livingston. Or The Healer’s Apprentice by Melanie Dickerson. Those were my top three, anyway. I think…

    Like

  2. I’ve only read two, but still working on getting Amish Vampires

    Like

  3. I want to read Amish Vampires this year. Last year, my favorite read was “lovely dark and deep” by Amy McNamara. The author wove an interesting story within the context a young girl’s depression.

    Like

  4. I haven’t read Amish Vampires…dunno if I’d like it. The rest I’ve read or in my TBR pile except Doon. I do really want to read it though! 🙂 I could tell this was your list by the books in it. 😀

    Like

  5. I read Ender’s Game in late 2013 and wished I hadn’t waited so many years. I could go for something campy like Amish Vampires in Space about now. I imagine a story comparable to Mars Attacks! (movie). Somebody warn me if I’m way off!

    Like

    • Cyn- while the title and cover of AViS are campy, the story actually does a great job of capturing Amish culture and the vampire stuff is strangely, biologically plausible (or as plausible as can be). It’s a strong Sci-Fi story (like Ender’s Game) with an unusual cast of characters (Amish).

      Like

Leave a Reply

