What am I Reading?

I thought I would share what I’ve been reading this month.
Here are the YA books I consumed,
and my thoughts on them.

1. Running Lean by Diana L. Sharples

Running Lean

Equilibrium. That’s what Stacey and Calvin found in each other. He is as solid as his beloved vintage motorcycle and helps quiet the constant clamor in Stacey’s mind. She is a passionate, creative spirit—and a lifeline after Calvin’s soldier brother dies. But lately the balance is off. Calvin’s grief is taking new forms. Voices of self-loathing are dominating Stacey’s life. When struggles with body image threaten her health, Calvin can’t bear to lose another person that he loves. Taking action may destroy their relationship, but the alternative could be much more costly.

This is a book about a young girls struggle with an eating disorder and the boy who loves her. Diana L. Sharples is an amazing weaver of words and you can tell that from the first page. The story is a difficult one that needs to be told. Her characters are real and struggle (and question) their faith as most teens do. Sometimes the characters were…whiny and it could be a little grating. But it didn’t detract from the beauty of the book.

2. Knife by R.J. Anderson

Once upon a time, a fairy is born. She lives in an old oak tree at the bottom of a garden with the rest of the fairy folk. Never has she known a time when life hasn’t been hard, with many dangers and much adversity. But when she becomes the Hunter of the group and learns to do battle in the outside world, her adventures really take off…Don’t read this book if you’re expecting fairy dust – the last thing Knife is likely to wield is a magic wand… 

R.J. Anderson is a Canadian writer that I have met a couple of times. She is Christian but she writes for the mainstream market. I’m not a big fan of faeries but this book is not about Tinkerbell. Anderson is a masterful storyteller and has a firm grasp of the writers craft. This is a book that was an excellent and enthralling read. It was a good clean read with just enough edge to it. 🙂 This cover was what they published in the UK. The one for North America is not as nice:

Spell Hunter (Faery Rebels)

3. Rebel

No ordinary fairy tale…Linden is a feisty faery with a lot on her mind. She her fellow faeries are under threat: their magic is fading, and if they do not act fast, they will die…When Linden meets Timothy, a human staying in the house opposite her Oak, she knows he can help. Together they embark on a dangerous journey to seek more magic ? and discover that there is more to fear from other faeries than they could ever have imagined.

This is the second in R.J. Anderson’s faery series. This one was even better than the first one. It has a lot of Christian themes and lyrical prose. If you haven’t read any of Anderson’s stuff I highly recommend you check her books out.

4. Like Moonlight at Low Tide

Like Moonlight at Low Tide: Sometimes the Current Is the Only Thing that Saves You

When high school junior Melissa Keiser returns to her hometown of Anna Maria Island, Florida, she has one goal: hide from the bullies who had convinced her she was the ugliest girl in school. But when she is caught sneaking into a neighbor’s pool at night, everything changes. Something is different now that Melissa is sixteen, and the guys and popular girls who once made her life miserable have taken notice. When Melissa gets the chance to escape life in a house ruled by her mom’s latest boyfriend, she must choose where her loyalties lie between a long-time crush, a new friend, and her surfer brother who makes it impossible to forget her roots. Just as Melissa seems to achieve everything she ever wanted, she loses a loved one to suicide. Melissa must not only grieve for her loss, she must find the truth about the three boys who loved her and discover that joy sometimes comes from the most unexpected place of all.

This was a sweet book (and I loved the cover). The writing was solid and there were times where it really sang. The structure of the book did nothing for me and the plot was often predictable. That being said, I enjoyed the read. It just wasn’t my favorite and that may speak more to my taste in books. 🙂

What have you been reading this past month that left you wanting more? Leave a comment with a book that you would recommend to me and I’ll add it to my To Be Read pile.

Karen deBlieck

Karen deBlieck

16 thoughts on “What am I Reading?

  1. Have you been enjoying them? I might have to check out Rebel.

    Like

  2. I really liked Knife and Rebel.

    Like

  3. Prophet by RJ Larson, for sure. The Origami Yoda series for sure (next one comes out in March- woo hoo). And I want to read the rest of Dani Pettrey’s series. I enjoyed Submerged, but it’s not a YA read. And Warrior of the Ages, by Stephanie Karfelt was good. She was a Genesis Semi-finalist this year but pulled out of the contest because she decided to get published instead. Sheesh. I also really like RL Copple’s Virtual Chronicles. The first is Mind Game. It would be a good series for Tim, I think.

    Like

  4. You know me, the realistic fiction lover. So Moonlight at Low Tide is the one I’ve read. I never mind a good read being predictable. I read to relax and enjoy the story. As long as it doesn’t end with: “and then I woke up. It was all a dream.”

    Like

    • I don’t mind some predictability but I found I knew the whole story from the beginning. There were some minor twists and turns but not enough depth to keep me going. And although it wasn’t a “it was all a dream” ending the beginning as a flashforward/back was a little cheesy for me. Nothing wrong with the writing though and I said it was a good “sweet” read.

      Like

  5. I gravitate toward contemporary realistic YA fiction, both mainstream and Christian/Inspirational. I read Like Moonlight at Low Tide, too, as well as Rajdeep Paulus’ Swimming Through Clouds and Laura Anderson Kurk’s Perfect Glass. Good stuff.

    Like

  6. Oh and I’m very anxious to get my hands on Running Lean!

    Like

  7. I’m reading Numb and Merlin’s Shadow. I’m also listening to the Percy Jackson series, Lord of the Flies, and about to start Ender’s Game. I just finished listening to Stranger in a Strange Land. Next on my TBR list is Amish Vampires in Space and I think one of Melanie Dickerson’s reimagined fairy tales.

    Like

  8. The faery books look great (& I agree the UK covers are much better) and Like Moonlight at Low Tide looks interesting, too. I just finished inhaling the first 3 Melanie Dickerson “fairy tales” though I didn’t care for the middle one. I also finally got around to reading Wool by Hugh Howey and was blown away. I hope the sequels will be just as unique and good at subverting expectations.

    Like

    • The faery books were captivating. I’m not really a faery person but I enjoyed them immensly. 🙂 OoooOOOOo I’ll have to check out Wool. Sounds interesting! My husband might just have to get me an Amazon gift card for Christmas…lol. Thanks for stopping by sparks. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

