Thanksgiving, Romance, and a Book Giveaway

At my house, Thanksgiving includes a remembrance of my husband’s Mayflower ancestors, Priscilla Mullins and John Alden. The venerable Myles Standish also tried to court Priscilla, but I’d like to think she chose love over status when she married John, the Mayflower’s cooper. If I found myself in Priscilla’s rustic kitchen sipping hot tea, I’d ask her to tell me the real reason.

 

.

1620 is not that long ago, and I can easily empathize with Priscilla. 

For those romantic couples who lived two thousand years ago, however, I’ll need a little help, like several candid photographs (in living color thank you very much).

In the absence of photos, I rely on authors who write fiction that breathes, such as Michelle Moran’s Nefertiti:A Novel. See my complete review
here.

 

Equal part passion and tragedy describes the marriage of Nefertiti and Akhenaten. Nefertiti’s museum bust is beautiful, but I yearn to see her gown ripple in the evening breeze, as she and her husband stroll the gardens and plot to undermine the priesthood. If you found yourself on the royal barge sailing the Nile, what would you ask her?

 

These are more of my faves, but feel free to add any others who pre-date the Middle Ages:


Antony and Cleopatra (Roman/Egyptian)

Emperor Justinian and his former-courtesan wife, Theodora (Greek)

Abraham and his childless wife, Sarah (Jewish)

Comment and tell me your favorite ancient romance. You can also send me those burning questions you’ve always wanted to ask one of these ladies!                                .

We may find they are not much different from us after all!

Vote and/or submit your questions through November 18th, and I’ll put your name in the hat to win Nefertiti: A Novel. If you share or tweet this blog, your name goes in twice.

One lucky winner will be drawn from the hat on November 18th and will receive a digital copy of Nefertiti: A Novel.

*

*

(If you cannot see the comments field below, click on the title of this blog and scroll down again.)

17 thoughts on “Thanksgiving, Romance, and a Book Giveaway

  1. Ruth and Boaz, of course. 😉

    Like

    • The scene where she lays at his feet during the night . . . sigh. I’d love to see that made into a tasteful movie!

      Like

      • lol – I love their story, it’s one of my favorites. But I’ve got a funny association with that “laying at his feet” scene. See, my first big crush happened in 5th or 6th grade. I was horrifically shy back then and terrified of anyone knowing when I had a crush. The boy’s mother taught our Sunday School class and she had the brilliant idea to have us act out the story. And who did she decide should play the roles of Ruth and Boaz? Oh, yes, that would be her cute son and the mortified, shy girl hiding behind everyone else. A large folding table was our threshing floor and we had to enact the whole scene in front of the group. Killed my crush dead from the humiliation, that did… 😉

        Like

  2. Oh oh oh! I have one. Remember the movie The King’s Speech? Prince Albert (Colin Firth my fav actor) was forced to become king when his brother King Edward VIII abdicates the throne to marry Wallis Simpson (a divorced woman! Heavens NO!) Poor ‘Bertie’ has a speech impediment so I overwhelmed with the task. Wonderful movie by the way!! A must see!

    Like

  3. Leah and Jacob. Given the opportunity to dress up as Bible characters, most girls would pick Rachel over Leah but I’ve always identified with Leah.

    Like

  4. It is said that the Hanging Gardens of Babylon may have been built by King Nebuchadnezzar II for the Persian wife, Queen Amytis because she missed the green hills and valleys of her homeland. I always thought that was very romantic and wondered what their relationship was like. 🙂

    Like

    • That’s so romantic Gretchen. The Hanging Gardens were one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. On a smaller scale, my husband built me a fabulous garden with raised beds and stone borders this year. A husband who builds for his wife is a treasure.

      Like

    • That’s so romantic Karen. The Hanging Gardens were one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. On a smaller scale, my husband built me a fabulous garden with raised beds and stone borders this year. A husband who builds for his wife is a treasure.

      Like

  5. Rahab and Salmon – we don’t know much about them but I think it’s very sweet & romantic that she probably married one of the spies that she helped hide.

    Like

  6. Sparks, last month when you mentioned Howl’s Moving Castle, I knew we were kindred spirits. Rahav and Salma are my absolutely favorite historical characters. I do believe he was one of the spies who reconnoitered Jericho, which makes his rescue of her all the more romantic. Thumbs up!

    Like

  7. Esther and Ahaseurus. Or was he Artaxerxes? Anyway, I always hoped she remained his favorite. Ever read One Night with the King by Tommy Tenney?

    Like

    • Yes Linda, the first name is Persian and the send name is Greek, I believe (I’m going off memory here). Tenney’s book is fabulous and the movie was good too!

      Like

  8. I like the comments on our first Thanksgiving at Plymouth Rock. Nefertiti sounds very interesting. I would like to see more adventure novel written for teens without all of the violence, sex and bad words.

    Like

Leave a Reply

